HomeProgramsArts Midwest ConferenceCo-chairs + Committees

Co-chairs + Committees

2017 Conference co-chairs

We are thrilled to announce Janet Herman Barlow, Director at Stocker Arts Center/Lorain County Community College, and Theresa Holden, Co-Director of Holden Arts & Associates, will serve as your Conference co-chairs. These two share a deep commitment to the Conference and will work closely with Arts Midwest staff to prepare for 2017 in Columbus, Ohio.

Janet Herman Barlow has worked for a variety of arts organizations in Ohio for more than 25 years. Since September 2004 she has been the Director of the Stocker Arts Center of Lorain County Community College. She also served for 12 years as the General Manager of Cain Park, a summer arts park in Cleveland Heights, Ohio; was the General Manager of Fairmount Theatre of the Deaf (now known as Cleveland Signstage Theatre); Executive Director of the Renaissance Theatre in Mansfield, Ohio; and the Executive Director of the Showboat BECKY THATCHER Theatre in Marietta, Ohio. Janet has served several 3-year terms on the Board of Trustees of the Ohio Arts Presenters Network (OAPN). She served as Co-Chair of that organization’s showcase conference in 2009, 2010 and 2015. She has served on the Spotlight Showcase Selection Panel for the Arts Midwest Conference, on several panels for the Ohio Arts Council, was a two-time panelist for the Pennsylvania Performing Arts on Tour program, and was also an-site Evaluator for the Professional Theatre Program of the National Endowment for the Arts. In October of 1997, Janet was awarded OAPN’s Award of Merit for Exemplary Service to the Performing Arts Field and in October of 2009, she was awarded the Richard Lenhart Award of Excellence by OAPN, the highest honor for a person working in the presenting field in the state of Ohio.

Theresa Ripley Holden, a performing arts manager, producer, artist and teacher, is the Co-Director of Holden & Arts Associates. Founded by Michael and Theresa Holden in 1983, HAA offers a full range of management, producing and booking services to national and international companies. Theresa is also the Founder/Director of The Artist and Community Connection, a not-for-profit organization offering consultancy services. For the last several years Theresa has also worked for the Research Center for Leadership in Action, at New York University, where she facilitates dialogues with organizations across the country. Theresa has served on National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) and many other funding panels; undertaken site visits for funding organizations and has served as a project director for several Lila Wallace Foundation Arts Partners’ projects. She has continued teaching numerous theater and community workshops around the country, and has taught the Emerging Leaders Institute for the Association of Performing Arts Presenters (APAP) for the last 12 years. She served as a Member of the Board of Directors of APAP for 6 years. Theresa and her husband and Co-Director of Holden & Arts Associates, Michael Holden, were presented the Jerry Willis Award for artistic excellence and distinguished leadership in service to the performing arts by Western Arts Alliance of Arts Administrators. Most recently, Theresa and Michael were awarded the Fan Taylor Award for Distinguished Service to the Field by APAP. And Theresa and her colleague, John O’Neal of Junebug Productions, were awarded Leadership for a Changing World Award from the Ford Foundation.

Key Advisors

We wish to thank the following individuals for their work on the Conference:

  • Barbara Lau, Spotlight Showcase technical producer
  • Jenni Taylor Swain, Professional Development liaison

Professional Development Resource Committee

This committee generates ideas about current trends and relevant topics, and offers connections for educational programming. The 2017 committee will be announced shortly.