Home News & Events Arts Midwest 2021-22 Annual Report

Arts Midwest 2021-22 Annual Report

For Arts Midwest, as for so many others, 2021 was a year of change.

Disruptions brought on by the pandemic continued to impact our communities and our programs. At Arts Midwest, we deepened our commitment to helping our region recover, disbursing more than $3 million in direct relief aid to Midwest creative organizations on top of our normal granting initiatives. In November 2021, we welcomed a new Board Chair, and in March 2022, we moved into new offices in our hometown of Minneapolis.

In what was perhaps the biggest change of all, Arts Midwest, along with our five sister Regional Arts Organizations, received a historic gift from MacKenzie Scott in June of 2021. We were honored and grateful to be among the 286 recipients of Ms. Scott’s generosity.

Throughout all of these changes, Arts Midwest has not wavered in our commitment to creativity in the Midwest and beyond. In our 2021-22 Annual Report, you’ll read about key accomplishments from the past year: the grants we’ve awarded to bolster organizations across our region, the artist residencies we’ve produced that brought people together virtually and in person, and the stories we shared that highlight the creative work taking place in Midwestern communities.

Along the way, we’ve been supported by strong partners, donors, advisors, and constituents. They’ve shared their ideas, resources, and feedback to support us in advancing creativity. We are grateful to them, and we are grateful to you.

Torrie Allen
President & CEO
Brian Tiemann
Board Chair


Download the 2021-22 Annual Report

Design by Nüpolitan (Fargo, ND)


Thank you to our partners and supporters

Government + State Arts Agencies

National Endowment for the Arts
Illinois Arts Council Indiana Arts Commission Iowa Arts Council
Minnesota State Arts Board North Dakota Council on the Arts
Ohio Arts Council Wisconsin Arts Board
City of Minneapolis US Department of State Women's Suffrage Centennial Commission
Quebec Government Office in Chicago

Corporations + Foundations

The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Bush Foundation Barr Foundation
Margaret A. Cargill Foundation The McKnight Foundation 3M
Kaufman Family Fund for Israeli Cultural Exchange McDermott Will & Emery Crane Group
Howard B. & Ruth F. Brin Jewish Arts Endowment, a fund of the Minneapolis Jewish Federation's Foundation


July 1, 2020 – present

Jessica Abbazio  Clay and Sandy Haapala  Ailithir McGill  Laura Ross 
Veronica Ahern  Ken and Catherine Haarstad  Barbara McLaughlin, in memory of Colleen McLaughlin  Sara Rowley 
Torrie Allen  Lindsay Hanson  Rene and Christoph Meyer-Grimberg  Jeff Rundgren 
Anonymous, in memory of Colleen McLaughlin  Matthew Harris  Miah and Jonathan Michaelsen  Omari Rush 
Donald Balfour  Janet Herman Barlow  Joel Mintzer and Heidi Schneider  Sandra Schoeder 
Julia Barlow, in memory of Colleen McLaughlin  Stan and Jane Hooper  Bonnie Monte  MacKenzie Scott 
Catherine Barnett  Alana Horton  Gretta Mosser  Dana Setterholm and Antonio Spargo 
Alan Becker  Kendra Whitlock Ingram  Daniel Murphy  Emily Stiehl 
Ananda Bena-Weber  Yumi Inomata and Karl H. Nilsson  Chaitra Nagaraja  Kitty Strauss and Dick Rosenthal 
Rebecca Biderman  Gina Kastel  Jan Newcomb  Nicodemus Taranovsky and Sharon Preves 
Emma Bohmann  Sylvia Kaufman  Alexandra Nicholis Coon  Tammy Tesky Ausen, in memory of Colleen McLaughlin 
Brian and Kaija Bonde  Moira Keane and Thomas L. Romens  Jenny Palmer  George Tzougros 
John Bracey  Jill and Bill Klanderman  Michael Pangburn  Terri and Michael Uline 
Chelsea Brown  Chad Klochko  Adam Perry  Michael Vinson 
Peter Capell  Melissa Koprek, in honor of Emily and Marcus Wicker  Andre and Amanda Perry  Jan Virgin 
Terrence A. Chin-Loy, in honor of Margaret Skoglund  Melissa Koprek, in honor of Erin Cramer  Jasper Person  Gregory Volan and Katarina Topalov 
Tom Clareson  Melissa Koprek, in honor of the Skaja Family  Mary Pickard  Saymoukda Vongsay, in memory of Sanouthith Vongsay 
Nina Clark  Melissa Koprek, in honor of Mark and Kim Skaja  Rhoda Pierce  Robert Wagner 
Alex Cousins  Kimberly Koran, in honor of Kayla Murphy  Ashwini Ramaswamy  Stanley Wai and Gayle A. Jorgens 
Dionne Custer Edwards  Andi Larsen and Bill Youmans  Leslie Rapp  Melissa Wales 
Steve Duchrow  Megan Laudenschlager  Jane and John Rasmussen  Matthew Wallace 
Craig Dunn, in memory of Colleen McLaughlin  Daniel Lawrence  Clara Reed  Alison Watson 
Marlene Feldman, in honor of Rebecca Biderman  Patti Liberatore, in honor of David Fraher  Jeffrey Reinhart  Jan Webb 
Ken and Penny Fischer  Marc Lyon  Jonathan Riehle and Angela M. Bohmann  Anya Wilkening 
David Fraher  Emily Maltz and Jean-Michel Artigaud, in memory of Colleen McLaughlin  Barbara Robinson  Sally Windle 
Brian Goesl  Kymm and Ivan Martinez  Betsy Roder  Pernille Wollan 
Emily Gutknecht  David Mayeri  Anne Romens and Christopher Hill  Sandi Clark