Live broadcast of NEA Jazz Masters Awards Ceremony & Concert

Jan. 10, 2011

Tomorrow evening, NPR will broadcast a live video feed of the 2011 NEA Jazz Masters Award Concert online. Arts Midwest has been involved with the NEA Jazz Masters for several years, and currently manages NEA Jazz Masters Live—a program focused on providing funding to support engagements that honor the NEA Jazz Masters and their body of work.

The NEA Jazz Masters Awards Ceremony & Concert honors the recipients of the 2011 NEA Jazz Masters Award—the nation’s highest honor in this distinctly American music. The 2011 NEA Jazz Masters are Hubert Laws, David Liebman, Johnny Mandel, and the Marsalis Family—Ellis Marsalis, Jr., Branford Marsalis, Wynton Marsalis, Delfeayo Marsalis, and Jason Marsalis. In addition, the 2011 A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Masters Award for Jazz Advocacy is awarded to Orrin Keepnews.

The event begins at 6:30 pm Central (7:30 ET) on Tuesday, January 11th.

Watch online >>

Learn more about this year’s award recipients >>